‘The Color Purple’ Takes Top NAACP Image Awards at 2024 Ceremony

Earlier this week, Ava DuVernay won best director in the 55th annual show’s non-televised honors

Warner Bros.

The NAACP Image Awards celebrated its 55th annual ceremony on Saturday, celebrating winners and nominees in an event hosted by Queen Latifah, who was returning to host for the second time. “The Color Purple” took home the award for Outstanding Motion Picture. The film’s stars Fantasia Barrino, Colman Domingo, and Taraji P. Henson also took home Outstanding Actress, Outstanding Supporting Actor and Outstanding Supporting Actress for their roles.

Earlier rounds of winners in this year’s awards were announced earlier this week. Those included Ava DuVernay for Outstanding Director, “The Color Purple” for Outstanding Ensemble Cast in a Motion Picture, “The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder” for Outstanding Animated Series and Michelle Buteau for Outstanding Breakthrough Creative (Television).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.